AIC Year in Review: Chess

The AIC Chess season was again conducted on a Friday afternoon during Term 2. The AIC Chess competition consists of 7 divisions- First IV, Senior (Years 10-12) A & B, Intermediate (Years 7-9) A & B and Junior (Years 5-6) A & B. The intensity of competition is very high with each fixture including 8 total games played between each team of 4 students.

A large amount of preparation goes into preparing each schools AIC Chess teams. Just like all other sports, countless hours go into developing skills and an understanding of the game and the strategies to be successful when playing the game. Whether that be a skillful “Opening” or being able to play an appropriate “End Game”, AIC Chess players have to be prepared for many different game scenarios.

To assist schools in their preparation for the AIC Season, St Laurence’s again hosted an AIC Invitational Carnival during the Easter school holidays. This was a great opportunity for students to play a number of matches against opposition from other schools. AIC schools also competed throughout the year in the various school competitions held throughout South-East Queensland.

First IV Premiership 
The AIC First IV Chess Premiership is always a close contest, with an incredible depth of chess talent existing across all eight colleges. The 2023 First IV Premiership included a number of tense fixtures that came down to the final game. Congratulations to St Laurence’s College who went through the season undefeated to win the First IV Premiership Trophy. Marist College Ashgrove finished second with St Peters a very close third.

Congratulations to the following schools for winning AIC Division Premierships:
St Peters – Intermediate A*, Intermediate B, Junior A
St Laurence’s- First IV, Senior B, Junior B
Marist College Ashgrove- Senior A
Padua College- Intermediate A*

Aggregate Competition 
The AIC Chess Aggregate Competition is always one of the closest Aggregate competitions each year. This year St Peter’s were crowned overall AIC Chess Champions. St Laurence’s were 2nd and Marist College Ashgrove 3rd. The 2023 success was St Peters 4th Aggregate championship after also claiming the ‘shield’ in 2005, 2006 and 2019.