AFL Season Review

The AIC AFL competition continues to grow each year. In 2024, 98 teams competed in AIC competitions- an increase of 17% on 2023 numbers. When secondary AFL was added to the AIC competition in 2019, there were only 3 divisions, this year schools competed across 8 secondary divisions and for the first time ever in the primary school competition, some schools entered a fourth or fifth team in year levels to fill any available vacancies in the draw. Again, this year Ambrose Treacy College was invited to participate in AIC AFL Fixtures as a guest of the Association which allowed for greater depth of competition across divisions.

Aggregate Competition
The “Aggregate Competition” for Champion AFL school was an incredibly close contest. The AIC AFL Aggregate competition is calculated by combining the final, standings of the 7A, 8A, 9A and First XVIII premierships together. Each year, the competition is traditionally decided by the barest of margins and 2024 was no different. Going into the last round between Padua and St Laurence’s the two schools were neck and neck. After a hard-fought last round between the two schools, St Laurence’s were able to secure the ‘Aggregate Shield’, claiming the championship by a solitary point over Padua. Villanova finished third in the Aggregate Competition.

First XVIII Premiership
For the first time in AIC AFL history, the AIC First XVIII premiership was shared by 3 schools – Marist College Ashgrove, Padua College and St Laurence’s College. In Round 2 of competition Padua defeated Marist College Ashgrove in the annual “Andrews-Cameron” Cup fixture. This contest celebrates the strong AFL bond that exists between the two schools forged from the great relationship between Brisbane Lions stars and proud ‘Old Boys’ – Harris Andrews (Padua) and Charlie Cameron (Marist College Ashgrove). Marist College Ashgrove were able to put themselves back into premiership contention with a win against the previously undefeated St Laurence’s in Round 6 which set up an exciting last round between the undefeated Padua and St Laurence’s (1 loss). In a game of the highest standard, and in front of a very large crowd, St Laurence’s was able to prevail and secured a shared premiership with Marist College Ashgrove and Padua.

Year Level Premierships
The level of talent that exists in the AIC AFL competition is incredible. The standard of competition grows each and every year with some very close contests between teams from each school.

This year, St Edmunds (7B, 8B) and St Peters (7B, 9B, 2nd XVIII) entered teams into ‘B’ competitions. All of these teams performed exceptionally well with the St Edmund’s team in the 8B competition recording an undefeated season. It is hoped that this involvement in the B division in 2024 assists in the future development of the sport at these schools and even more players in the future.

Congratulations to the following schools who won premierships in the respective competitions.

Division Premiers
1st XVIII Marist College Ashgrove, Padua College, St Laurence’s College
2nd XVIII St Laurence’s College
9A Padua College
9B St Laurence’s College
8A St Laurence’s College, Villanova College
8B St Laurence’s College
7A Padua College
7B St Laurence’s College

Year 5 and 6 AFL
Yeronga AFL Club continued to be the host of AIC Primary AFL each week of the season. 2024 continued the wonderful carnival atmosphere, with the venue hosting all primary games. A “Sea of Colour” from the jerseys of each school took over the fields of Yeronga each week with the skill level of participants very high. Congratulations to all primary teams and we look forward to them continuing their AIC AFL journey in future years!

The AIC would like to thank AFLQ for their support of AIC Sport through their coordination of the AFL Season. This support includes Fixture Scheduling, Umpiring and Match Officials and Venue Sourcing. Thank you to all of the AFLQ staff including umpires and match managers that have made the season possible.

The Association would like to thank the following AFL Clubs and Venues for hosting AIC AFL games in 2024: Coorparoo Senior and Junior AFL Clubs, Iona College, Wynnum Vikings AFL Club, Yeronga Devils AFL Club, Aspley Hornets AFL Club, Zillmere Eagles AFL Club, the Greater Springfield Sports AFL Club and Mt Maria College.

Thank you to our AFL First Aid Providers- First Response Sports Trainers and HEST Paramedical.

Photo Gallery
Please enjoy the images below. these will be added to as photos become available from each College.